Tags

, , , , ,

The positive things that marked my 2012 are of two sorts. What I can claim credit for, like neutralizing an ongoing mismatched kids sock problem by buying 20 pairs of the exact same socks in color and style for each of my boys. And what life just spoiled me with, like my husband flying me to the Caribbean for our 10th wedding anniversary in October.

So instead of talking about socks, I will share with you some delicious memories about Puerto Rico. They have a local pastry called Majorca pan that made me so happy. It is a somewhere between brioche and bread, stuffed with ham and cheese and heavily sprinkled with powdered sugar. It’s soooo good!

ham2

Upon our return, I was inspired to make something similar to Majorca pan, something that combined an eggy buttery yeasty dough with ham and cheese flavors and a bit of sweetness.  I wanted something that the kids especially would enjoy and that would help them understand my excitment about a trip they were not a part of. I call it “waffle pan.”

ham

Ingredients: 
Dough: 3 cups all-purpose flour. 1 packet dry yeast. 1/2 cup of lukewarm water. 2 large eggs. 2 sticks of softened butter. 1/2 teaspoon salt. 1 tablespoon granulated white sugar.
Filling: 6 ounces Virginia Ham. 6 ounces Gruyère cheese.
Topping: 1/4 cup powder sugar.

Steps: Dissolve yeast and sugar in lukewarm water for 5 minutes. Then, in a mixer, gradually incorporate all dough ingredients leaving the butter last. Let it work for 10 minutes. The dough should be sticky, so you can leave it in the mixer bowl, cover it tightly and let it rest for one hour in a warm place.

cheese

Dice the cheese into 1/2-inch cubes. Do the same for the ham if you’re working from a thick piece. If what you have are thin ham slices, just cut them into pieces a bit bigger than the cheese cubes.

mixing

Once your dough has almost doubled in volume, bring the mixer bowl back to the mixer, add the cheese and ham, and let the machine fold them to the dough for a minute or two.

ham balls

Divide the dough into 10 small patties and let them rest for an extra 1/2 hour.

table2

Bake each patty in a pre-heated waffle iron for few minutes depending on your machine. Sprinkle with powdered sugar, and Enjoy!

nabil3

